A Unique Road Crossing Warning Device
Straightening up, the line crosses Cameron Street just past the Oval
and then begins a steady climb towards the freeway tunnel. The crossing
features South Australia’s last remaining wig-wag level crossing warning
device, once commonly found on both suburban and country road crossings.
The device is maintained by SteamRanger’s Signal and Telegraph team
as an historic relic.
A highlight of the excursion, especially for children, is a thirty
second ride through SteamRanger’s only tunnel! The 96m long ARMCO tunnel
was installed when the South Eastern Freeway was built and replaced
an open rail cutting known as McGrath’s Cutting.
Leaving the freeway tunnel, Anembo Recreation Park is passed on the left
and the Littlehampton Brickworks on a rise on the right of the line.
The brickworks were established in 1913 on the site of ballast pits built
during the line construction.
An old platform and remnants of
rusty trackwork serving the brickworks can be seen on the right of today's
line just before the level crossing.
The old main road to Melbourne, North Terrace, is crossed just past
the brickworks and the line then enters the site of Littlehampton
Station. A platform and shelter shed were built here
about 1890 and sidings were added later to service the brickworks
and to allow crossing of trains to and from the branch.
were installed and a Station Master followed, remaining until around 1940.
The sidings were removed in the late 1970s and today, only
isolated remnants of the busy little station remain.